Ireland

I want to STAY

I’ve come to the conclusion that job-hunting is singlehandedly the worst thing in the entire universe. You take hours, days, WEEKS, crafting the perfect resume, trying to convey the thousands (in my case, millions 😉 ) of skills you possess, and then try to suck up, without letting anyone know that you’re sucking up, in a horrible letter where you basically beg for a job. Welcome to thesis after-hours here in Ireland. Where I spend my time frantically searching the various job websites, applying to anything and everything (literally everything) in the hopes that someone, anyone will take pity on me (or be like “DAMN! SHE’S A CATCH!”) and employ me.

I’ve been spending lunch breaks, weekends, and evenings on a few different websites that cater more towards what I (would like to) do. I’ve had some great finds, I’ve had some weeks where I’ve found nothing…but I keep rollin’. I tried to download a fancy new resume template from some design website and failed miserably, reverting back to good ole Microsoft Word to do the job. I’ve crafted a pretty decent cover letter that is easily adapted for the majority of jobs I’m going for. I’M MERE WEEKS AWAY FROM A POST-GRADUATE DEGREE. And yet, nothing. Not a single reply, other than the automated “We thank you for your application. If you meet the criteria for the position you’ve applied for someone will be in touch in 4-5 million decades. DO NOT REPLY TO THIS EMAIL PEON”.

It is so frustrating! To be fair…for at least 50% of the jobs I’m asking for more than employment. I’m also asking them to sponsor my visa. See…the whole “leaving” thing…yeah don’t really want to do that. That’s not to say that I don’t love the idea of moving back to the States, but I love the idea of staying here more. Why not right? Like, if I can find a good job on this side of the pond, get a visa for either Ireland or the UK, and continue living the dream….why would I give that up? I have the rest of my life to go back to America and get a job, I just love it too much to not give it the “old college try” and do whatever I can to stay here. Because I know if I do go back to the motherland I will miss it here more than words can say. It will be 3000000000000000 times worse than when I came home from England. I will be miserable for a period of time. But I’ll be ok, that I know. But if I stay there are numerous benefits, including and not restricted to:

  1. Potentially developing some sort of accent that makes people go “I can’t quite pinpoint that accent, its so exotic, so intriguing”
  2. Learning to drive on the wrong side of the road, and also a stick shift.
  3. Always loving going home, because it wouldn’t be regular
  4. Continuing this blog (because blogging from home is just not as fun)
  5. Chances of meeting/dating/marrying Prince Harry greatly increase as distance to him decreases
  6. Uh, I just freaking love it ok?

So, with these, among other benefits, in mind…I’ve been looking for employment in both Ireland and the UK. I would say like 50% of the jobs I’ve applied for have been in London, about 20% in Dublin, and the other 30% in various US cities (mainly Boston and DC). One of the issues I’m facing with the “global health job search” is my (relative) lack of experience with global health. Sure, I have this degree, I did the Kenya thing, but I don’t have 3-5 years experience in the global health sector, and that’s what a lot of these jobs require, even entry level ones. So, I’ve branched out a bit…really done everything I can do to just get a foot in the door or get that elusive UK visa (seriously guys, like make it a little harder why don’t you?) because it’s down to the wire. It’s make or break. I have T-2 months left on my student visa (although I think I could definitely get that extended because I don’t technically graduate until late October). This is it. Now is the TIME!

So while priority numero uno is still (and will continue to be) el thesis, finding a job on this side of the Atlantic is second. Actually, finding a job period is second, but if its over here I’ll be a heck of a lot happier. So if you happen to either A) own a company in the UK/Ireland and want to just give me a job B) work for the government and want to sneak me a visa or C) have a connection you think could help me out (in the States or over here!)…I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

1 thought on “I want to STAY”

Leave a comment